Family holidays in Valais: child’s play.    
» Please click here if this newsletter is not displayed correctly.
The mountain summer is calling.
Dear friends of Valais,
In summer, families can look forward to a tremendous choice of sunny adventures – and exhilarating holidays full of variety. Hiking trails, mountain bike routes, hidden treasures, treetop obstacle courses and zip wires promise high thrills for action-seekers of all ages. In Valais, the whole family will agree: summer holidays should never end!
Treasure trails
Fun and excitement | Seven family resorts in Valais have created water-themed treasure hunts for this summer. Mountain lakes, glaciers, historical “bisse” irrigation channels, village water supplies: our “blue gold” reveals all its secrets to budding explorers. A shared brochure with maps, puzzles and fun anecdotes will guide you along each trail – and help you find the treasure.
To the treasure hunts
Family outing | The gentle walk along the shores of the Tseuzier reservoir is refreshingly varied. The views alone of the emerald-green lake and the surrounding mountain peaks are enchanting. The round walk takes about an hour and a half, and leads through forests, across meadows and past thundering waterfalls. Along the way, the Gîte de Lourantze serves simple meals and delicious snacks.
To the hike
Not for the faint-hearted
Giddy action | The AlpinLine in Hérémence is the longest zip wire in French-speaking Switzerland, and guarantees a mighty blast of adrenalin. The zip wire is 700 metres long and leads past the Grande Dixence dam: weighing 15 million tons, this is the world’s biggest gravity dam. Leap into the void and enjoy unforgettable views of the reservoir, dam and surrounding mountains: a safe adventure for families with children from age six.
To the zip wire
High thrills | Adventure forests and rope parks are a sure hit in summer. Valais, with its spectacular landscapes, offers the perfect setting: many holiday resorts have created imaginative treetop trails, full of fun obstacles and challenges. Each venue has routes with different levels of difficulty, so everyone in the family can test their skill. Equipped with helmet and safety harness, participants are guaranteed a thrilling – but safe – adventure.
To the rope parks
“Grächen Family Bike” tour
Top terrain | Explore the multi-award-winning family destination of Grächen by mountain bike. This scenic circuit is easy in terms of technique and fitness level required, but still promises glorious scenery and an exciting experience. Along the way, the Grächen Family Bike tour features ascents, descents and all kinds of terrain. Added bonus on hot days: the option of a refreshing dip in the sparkling Z’Seew mountain lake.
To the bike tour
Valais in words and pictures
VALAIS magazine | The summer edition of VALAIS magazine is out now. The cover features the iconic St Bernard dogs of the Fondation Barry, who show you round their summer residence up at the Great St Bernard Pass. Also in this edition: the panoramic new Via Valais for trail running enthusiasts, a glimpse behind the festival scenes at the prize-winning “music village” of Ernen, and much more. Available in French and German.
Browse online
Top Events
Tasting tours | Winemakers throughout Valais open their cellars to visitors during the long Ascension weekend from 30 May to 1 June 2019. Devise your own journey of discovery through the mouth-watering world of Valais wines!
More info
Mountain bike race | The beautiful Val d’Hérens welcomes mountain bike enthusiasts to compete over different routes in various categories (including Kids Cup) on the weekend of 15–16 June 2019.
More info
Music festival | From 11 to 14 July 2019, “Sion under the stars” brings top international acts to the capital of Valais – including Status Quo, Gotthard, Patrick Bruel, Soprano, Martin Solveig and many more.
More info
High-class classics | Orchestral concerts, chamber performances and virtuoso masterclasses await classical music lovers at the 26th edition of the Verbier Festival from 18 July to 3 August 2019.
More info

Familienferien im Wallis – ein Kinderspiel.                                 
E-Mail wird nicht korrekt angezeigt?
» Im Browser anschauen
Der Bergsommer ruft.
Liebe Freunde des Wallis
Im Sommer strahlt die Sonne mit den Familien um die Wette. Zahlreiche Angebote sorgen dafür, dass Sie die Ferienzeit kurzweilig und abwechslungsreich gestalten können. Dabei warten Wanderwege, Mountainbikerouten, verborgene Schätze, Seilparks und Tirolienne-Fahrten in luftiger Höhe auf grosse und kleine Entdecker. Eins ist klar. Im Walliser Familiensommer kommt garantiert keine Langeweile auf.
Auf Schatzsuche
Spass und Spannung | Sieben Walliser Familiendestinationen stellen ihre Schatzsuche diesen Sommer unter das gemeinsame Thema Wasser. Bergseen, Gletscher, Suonen, Wasserversorgung in Dörfern. Das blaue Gold wird für angehende Entdecker keine Geheimnisse mehr bergen. Eine gemeinsame Broschüre mit Karten, Rätseln und lustigen Anekdoten dient als Hilfsmittel, die Schätze zu finden.
Zur Schatzsuche
Familienausflug | Die einfache Wanderung entlang des Ufers des Tseuzier-Stausees ist erfrischend abwechslungsreich. Allein die Sicht über den smaragdgrünen See und die umliegenden Gipfel ist überwältigend. Der Rundgang dauert circa eineinhalb Stunden. Er führt durch Wälder und Wiesen, vorbei an tosenden Wasserfällen. Unterwegs liegt die Herberge von Lourantze, wo Sie sich eine kleine Zwischenverpflegung gönnen können.
Zur Wanderung
Nichts für schwache Nerven
In luftiger Höhe | Die Alpine Line von Hérémence ist die längste Tirolienne der Westschweiz und bietet einen Adrenalinkick vom Feinsten. Sie ist 700 Meter lang und passiert die 15 Millionen Tonnen schwere Grande Dixence, die grösste Gewichtsstaumauer der Welt. Stürzen Sie sich ins Leere und geniessen Sie gleichzeitig einen atemberaubenden Ausblick auf die Berge und den Stausee. Ein sicheres Abenteuer für Familien mit Kindern ab sechs Jahren.
Zum Abenteuer
Hoch hinaus | Abenteuerwälder und Seilparks stehen im Sommer hoch im Kurs. Und mit seiner vielfältigen Landschaft ist das Wallis geradezu prädestiniert dafür. Mehrere Ferienorte bieten deshalb solche Parks an. Aufgrund verschiedener Schwierigkeitsstufen kann die ganze Familie ihre Geschicklichkeit beweisen. Ausgerüstet mit Klettergurt und Helm erleben Sie Spass und Spannung und sind trotzdem stets auf der sicheren Seite.
Zu den Seilparks
Grächen Family Bike
Im Gelände | Entdecken Sie die mehrfach ausgezeichnete Familiendestination Grächen mit dem Mountainbike. Die Rundtour ist in Sachen technischem Können und Kondition einfach, punktet dafür umso mehr betreffend Erlebnis und Landschaft. Auf der Grächen-Family-Bike-Rundtour gehts auf unterschiedlichstem Gelände bergauf wie bergab. Sollten Sie dennoch ins Schwitzen kommen, sorgt der Bergsee Z’Seew für eine Erfrischung.
Zur Bike-Tour
Das Wallis in Wort und Bild
Magazin WALLIS | Als Beilage der Schweizer Illustrierten erschienen, ziert Barry das Cover der aktuellen Sommerausgabe des Magazins WALLIS. Die Bernhardiner der Fondation Barry nehmen Sie darin nämlich mit in ihre Sommerresidenz. Zudem können sich Trailrunner für die Via Valais inspirieren und das preisgekrönte Musikdorf Ernen gewährt einen Blick hinter die Festivalkulissen. Und das ist längst nicht alles.
Zum Magazin
Top Events
Mundende Tropfen | Am Auffahrtswochenende vom 30. Mai bis 1. Juni 2019 laden Sie die Walliser Winzerinnen und Winzer in gemütlichem Ambiente zu einer önologischen Entdeckungsreise in ihren Weinkellereien ein.
Informationen
Mountainbikerennen | Am Wochenende vom 15.-16. Juni 2019 strampeln im wunderschönen Val d’Hérens wieder Mountainbike Cracks verschiedener Kategorien auf unterschiedlichen Strecken um die Wette.
Informationen
Festival | Erleben Sie vom 11. bis 14. Juli 2019 «Sion sous les étoiles», wo Musikgrössen wie Status Quo, Gotthard, Patrick Bruel, Soprano, Martin Solveig und andere das Wallis zum Kochen bringen.
Informationen
Hochstehende Klassik | Lyrikkonzerte, Klavierabende und zahlreiche Kammerkonzerte warten an der 26. Ausgabe des Verbier Festivals vom 18. Juli bis 3. August 2019 auf die Liebhaber der klassischen Musik.
Informationen