The pleasures of autumn
» Please click here if this newsletter is not displayed correctly.
Autumn, season of gourmet treats 
and wellbeing in Valais
Dear friends of Valais,
Autumn, with its glorious colours, is the perfect time for recharging your batteries after the thrills of summer and before the approaching winter sports season. Mouth-watering cuisine, pure relaxation and high adventure all await: enjoy exquisite dishes based on game or roast chestnuts, bliss out in the soothing waters of our six thermal spa resorts, or treat yourself to a road trip along the ever-changing Rhône valley.
Autumn on your plate
Feast of flavours | Autumn has arrived in the mountains – and in the restaurants of Valais! Visit any of the restaurants that bear the «Saveurs du Valais» (Flavours of Valais) label, and you can be sure of a warm welcome, a convivial atmosphere and the freshest and finest seasonal cuisine – from venison or wild boar to a traditional Valais “brisolée” of roasted chestnuts served with tasty alpine cheeses. Bon appétit!
Taste the goodness
Worlds of wellbeing | As the days shorten and temperatures begin to drop, nothing beats a stint in the soothing waters of a thermal spa. The warmth of the mineral-rich water from deep under the mountains eases the muscles, releases tensions and calms the mind. Add the Valais Alps as a picturesque backdrop, and you have all the ingredients for total relaxation!
Bliss out
Ready for a road trip?
Best of the Rhône valley | Autumn is the ideal season for a road trip through Valais. In the soft autumn light, the mountainsides put on a bewitching show of colours. This road trip leads along the full length of the main Rhône valley from Lake Geneva to the upper Goms region, taking in 13 unmissable highlights – from steam trains to natural parks, from vineyards to castles and from stylish spas to the iconic St Bernard dogs.
To adventure
For cycling enthusiasts
Scenic bike routes | It’s official – Valais will be hosting the 2020 road cycling world championships at Martigny. No wonder: Valais offers a vast range of spectacular routes for cycling enthusiasts. Choose between flat rides along the valley floor, dramatic climbs or thrilling descents, all with the Valais Alps as a backdrop, and test yourself against top cyclists along world-championship routes!
Ride high
Recipe of the month
Pears stuffed with goat’s cheese and chestnuts | Treat your taste buds to a delicious autumn dish made with Williams pears branded from Valais! The sweet, tender flesh of the pears perfectly matches the creamy texture of the fresh goat’s cheese and the delicate taste of the chestnut purée. The Valais Williams pear brandy AOP caramelises to add a crunchy touch to a sublime blend of flavours.
Here’s how
Top Events
Health for tomorrow | Theme of this year’s Swiss Digital Day is health. Discover how new developments in the virtual and digital worlds can transform your wellbeing at a series of interactive and fun presentations at Sion railway station. On 25 October 2018.
Information
Gastronomy | All foodies – from gourmets to amateur cooks and professionals – will love this new event dedicated to the pleasures of the table. Highlights include a market for local produce, workshops, crafts space, wine area and tastings. From 23 to 27 November 2018.
Information
Cookery contest | Top-class chefs compete for honour and glory in the second edition of the Grand Prix Joseph Favre. This year’s challenge showcases venison, Valais cured meat and sweet chestnuts. On 25 November 2018.
Information

Kleine Herbstfreuden
E-Mail wird nicht korrekt angezeigt?
» Im Browser anschauen
Zeit zum Schlemmen, Geniessen, Wohlsein
Liebe Walliser Freunde
Der Herbst mit seinen prachtvollen Farben ist die ideale Jahreszeit, um zwischen prickelnder Sommerfrische und bevorstehender Wintersportsaison neue Energie zu tanken. Schlemmen, Entspannen und Erleben stehen auf dem Programm: Kosten Sie raffinierte Wildgerichte und Brisolée, tauchen Sie in ein in die wohltuenden Wasser unserer sechs Thermalbadeorte oder erkunden Sie das Wallis auf einem Roadtrip durchs Rhonetal. Geniessen Sie’s!
Herbst auf dem Teller
Wo Genuss Tradition hat | Horrido! Der Herbst hat in den Walliser Restaurants Einzug gehalten: Ob Sie nun Rehrücken, Hirschpfeffer und Wildschwein mit Spätzli locken oder eher ein mit würzigem Alpenkäse bestücktes Brisolée mit gerösteten, innen noch ganz weichen Kastanien – die Restaurants mit dem Label «Walliser Köstlichkeiten» heissen Sie mit frischen, geschmacksreichen Produkten im gemütlich-geselligen Rahmen willkommen. Guten Appetit!
Kulinarische Genüsse
Quellen des Wohlbefindens | Jetzt, wo die Tage wieder kürzer und die Temperaturen kühler werden, gibt’s nichts Wohltuenderes, als ins heilende Thermalwasser abzutauchen. Die Wärme des Wassers, das direkt aus der Tiefe des Berges kommt, vermag Muskeln zu lockern und allfällige Spannungszustände zu mildern. Lassen Sie es sich wohl sein – nirgends ist Erholung schöner als im Herzen der Walliser Bergwelt.
Entspannung pur
Und wie wär’s mit einem Roadtrip?
Das Wallis mal talseitig | Der Herbst bietet sich für einen Roadtrip durchs Wallis geradezu an. Das Herbstlicht bringt das Rhonetal zum Leuchten, so, als richte sich ein imaginärer Scheinwerfer auf die Talebene. Vom Genfersee bis ins Goms führt Sie dieser Roadtrip durchs Rhonetal hin zu Dampfbahnen, Naturparks, Weinbergen, Schlössern, Thermalbädern oder den Hunden des Grossen Sankt Bernhards hin und lässt Sie diese dreizehn Walliser Highlights entdecken.
Los geht’s
Für Velofans
Velowege | Nun ist es offiziell: Die Rad-Weltmeisterschaften werden 2020 in Martigny ausgetragen. Das Wallis verfügt über zahlreiche Velowege für alle Radsportler, die unseren Kanton unter einem anderen Aspekt kennenlernen wollen. Messen Sie sich – ob auf flacher Ebene, bergauf oder bergab – mit den grossen Namen des Radsports auf den Strecken der Weltmeister und seien Sie sich, wie diese, der Walliser Alpriesen im Hintergrund gewiss.
Ab in die Pedale
Rezept des Monats
Gefüllte Birne mit Kastanien & Ziegenfrischkäse | Stimulieren Sie Ihre Geschmacksnerven mit einem Herbstrezept auf der Basis von Williams-Birnen Marke Wallis! Das zarte, süsse Fruchtfleisch der Birne trifft auf cremigen Ziegenfrischkäse und den aparten Geschmack von Kastanienpüree. Walliser Branntwein aus Williams-Birnen AOP wird karamellisiert und verfeinert das Geschmacksbouquet mit einer knusprigen Note. Gehört zu Ihren Herbstbasics!
Zum Rezept
Top Events
Digitale Gesundheit | Der « Digital Day » beschäftigt sich mit der Thematik der digitalen Gesundheit in einem eigens zu diesem Zweck am Bahnhof Sitten installierten Demonstrations- und Begegnungsraum. Kommen und entdecken Sie die digitalen Innovationen für die Gesundheit von morgen. Am 25. Oktober 2018.
Informationen
Gastronomie | Berufsgastronomen und Brancheninteressierte treffen sich an dieser neuen Ausstellung rund um das Thema Tafelkunst. Neben einem Ausstellungsraum für Weine und einem Markt mit Produkten aus der Region präsentieren sich Handwerker, Anbieter und Produzenten. Geschmackserlebnisse garantiert! Vom 23. bis 27. November 2018.
Informationen
Meisterkoch | Anlässlich der zweiten Austragung des anspruchsvollen Kochwettbewerbs Grand Prix Joseph Favre wird derjenige Meisterkoch ausgezeichnet, der aus einem Rehrücken, Walliser Wurst- und Fleischspezialitäten und Kastanien das Beste zu machen weiss. Am 25. November 2018.
Informationen