Our top tips for unforgettable holidays in the snow.   
» Please click here if this newsletter is not displayed correctly.
Enjoy the Valais winter with all the family
Dear friends of Valais,
Winter has well and truly arrived, along with abundant snow. The mountains of Valais are sparkling white and ready to welcome you. Skiing, snowboarding, tobogganing, winter walking, snowshoeing, ski touring: whatever your favourite activity, you’ll find picturesque resorts with superb facilities to suit. Not to mention museums, delicious Valais specialities and much more… Valais promises delightful family holiday memories to last: action, fun and laughter guaranteed!
8 resorts with the Family Destination label
Everything for families | Valais boasts 8 holiday resorts that have won the coveted “Family Destination” label. Each one offers a wide variety of facilities to suit visitors of all ages. Family-friendly accommodation and restaurants, imaginative play areas, activities in the snow and childcare arrangements guarantee that parents and children alike enjoy a totally relaxing break.
Find out more
Profession: ski instructor | Sabine Haldemann’s smile is legendary in Bettmeralp. Every year, the charismatic ski instructor introduces more than 2,000 children to the secrets and pleasures of winter sports at the picturesque Valais resort. Nursery rhymes, songs and a cheerful atmosphere set the tone in the snow garden. It’s tough work (over the course of the winter season she loses 5 to 10 kg), but Sabine is thrilled to have found her dream job!
Read her story
Winter walks with St Bernard dogs
Sledge rides for children |
The St Bernard dog is the mascot of Valais. In former days, this giant, cuddly creature was valued as a rescue dog. Today, families can enjoy charming winter walks in the company of St Bernards through the magical snow-blanketed landscapes of Champex-Lac children under 10 have the chance to ride in sledges pulled by the dogs. A walk with a difference to delight all the family!
Details
Bake your own rye bread | Rye is ideally adapted to conditions in Valais, and has been cultivated here for centuries. People in Valais have long used its flour to bake a delicious traditional rye bread, whose distinctive texture and slightly acid taste are popular with children and adults alike. They say that only those who bake their own bread can know its secrets. Have a go at a choice of workshops – great fun for all the family.
Try your hand
Museums for all
Free visits | On the first Sunday of every month, the cantonal museums (of art, history and natural history) in Sion offer free admission and organise special activities. Guided visits, admission to sites normally closed to the public, themed events and workshops welcome visitors of all ages. Enjoy a fascinating cultural experience with the whole family as you discover the treasures of the Valais collections.
Start exploring
Fun for visitors of all ages
Snow parks | With their jumps, obstacles and banked turns, the snow parks at Valais ski areas offer fun and thrills for families to enjoy all together. Each has a beginners’ line ideal for children of all ages as well as novice adults. Kids adore the exciting sensations and quickly gain skills and confidence, while parents new to the freestyle scene may be surprised how quickly they become addicts!
Choose a venue
Travel to Valais
Lötschberg tunnel | Many motorists travelling to Valais from the north take advantage of the convenient car shuttle service through the Lötschberg railway tunnel. A refurbishment programme now underway is affecting timetables. A regular service is planned on weekends and bank holidays until Easter in summer, services will be limited (up to 4 car shuttles per hour in each direction). Please check the online timetable before travelling!
Further information
Top Events
Women’s races | The world’s top female ski racers gather in Crans-Montana to compete for glory on the spectacular Mont-Lachaux piste. Suspense and high thrills guaranteed. 23–24 February 2019.
Informations
Cross-country skiing | More than 1,900 enthusiasts take part every year in this popular and traditional cross-country ski race. Cheers of encouragement fill the Goms valley. 23–24 February 2019.
Informations
Local tradition | The wild Tschäggättä figures who prowl the streets of the Lötschental valley during Carnival, famous for their scary carved masks, gather for two traditional parades. Not to be missed! 28 February and 2 March 2019.
Informations

Nos bons plans pour des vacances à la neige inoubliables.      
» Cliquez ici si la newsletter ne s'affiche pas correctement.
Profitez de l’hiver valaisan en famille
Chers amis du Valais,
L’hiver et la neige sont bien installés. Les sommets valaisans se sont parés de blanc et sont prêts à vous accueillir. Ski, luge, randonnée, quel que soit votre sport de prédilection, les destinations valaisannes offrent des infrastructures adaptées à toutes les envies. Sans oublier les musées ou les spécialités valaisannes. Le Valais est le lieu où vivre vos plus beaux moments en famille. Fous rires et partage garantis !
8 destinations labellisées Family Destination
Tout pour les familles | Le Valais compte 8 destinations labellisées «Family Destination». Il s’agit de destinations qui offrent de nombreuses infrastructures adaptées aux besoins des petits et grands. Hébergements et restaurants family-friendly, aires de jeux, loisirs de neige et systèmes de garderie sont à disposition des hôtes afin de garantir des vacances inoubliables en famille.
En savoir plus
Son métier : prof de ski | Son sourire est emblématique à Bettmeralp. Sabine Haldemann y initie chaque année plus de 2000 enfants aux plaisirs des sports d’hiver. Cette prof de ski apprend aux skieurs en herbe tous les secrets des joies de la glisse. Comptines, chansons et bonne humeur résonnent alors dans le jardin des neiges. Un travail intense (elle perd chaque saison entre 5 et 10 kg), mais assurément le métier de ses rêves !
Portrait
Randonnée hivernale avec les chiens du Saint-Bernard
Balade en traîneau | Le Saint-Bernard est la mascotte du Valais. Avec ses airs de peluche, il était autrefois réputé comme chien de sauvetage. Aujourd’hui, il est possible de profiter de randonnées hivernales en sa compagnie. En effet, les enfants de moins de 10 ans peuvent s’installer dans des luges tractées par les chiens et arpenter ainsi les paysages enneigés de Champex-Lac. Une randonnée insolite pour les familles !
En savoir plus
Préparer son pain de seigle | Cultivé depuis des siècles en Valais, le seigle y trouve des conditions idéales. Avec sa farine, les Valaisans confectionnent depuis des siècles un pain savoureux. La mie moelleuse et le goût légèrement acidulé du pain de seigle ravissent petits et grands. On dit que seul celui qui fait lui-même son pain peut en connaître le vrai secret. Des ateliers de fabrication permettent à toute la famille de mettre la main à la pâte.
En savoir plus
Tous au musée
Visites gratuites | Le premier dimanche du mois, les musées cantonaux sont gratuits et organisent des activités spéciales. Visites guidées ou possibilité de découvrir des lieux normalement inaccessibles au public, animations thématiques ou ateliers permettent aux petits et grands de découvrir tous les trésors des collections cantonales. Art, nature ou histoire, c’est l’occasion de partager une expérience culturelle en famille.
Vers les musées
Du fun pour les petits et grands
Snowparks | Pour une sortie de neige en famille ludique et variée, les snowparks sont les endroits idéaux. Agrémentés de bosses, de courbes et d’obstacles, ils proposent des parcours parfaits pour les débutants. Les enfants peuvent ainsi y découvrir de nouvelles sensations de glisse et progresser. Ou évaluer leur marge de progression en contemplant les sauts des freestylers plus expérimentés…
En savoir plus
En route vers le Valais
Tunnel du Lötschberg | Vous prévoyez d’emprunter le tunnel du Lötschberg pour venir en Valais ? Des travaux de rénovation ont actuellement des répercussions sur le transport autos. L’exploitation sera régulière lors des week-ends et jours fériés jusqu’à Pâques. Pour la belle saison, elle sera restreinte (jusqu’à 4 navettes-autos par heure et par direction). Consultez l’horaire en ligne avant de vous mettre en route !
En savoir plus
Top Events
Ski alpin | Les meilleures skieuses du monde se rencontrent à Crans-Montana pour se défier sur la spectaculaire piste du Mont-Lachaux. Suspense et émotions garantis. Les 23 et 24 février 2019.
Informations
Ski de fond | Plus de 1900 participants prennent part chaque année à cette course populaire et traditionnelle de ski de fond. La vallée de Conches résonne de cris d’encouragement. Les 23 et 24 février 2019.
Informations
Tradition | Les effrayantes Tschäggättä sont de sortie ! Présentes par petits groupes lors de Carnaval, ces créatures se rassemblent pour 2 défilés traditionnels. A ne pas manquer ! Le 28 février et le 2 mars 2019.
Informations