Our top tips for unforgettable holidays in the snow.   
» Please click here if this newsletter is not displayed correctly.
Enjoy the Valais winter with all the family
Dear friends of Valais,
Winter has well and truly arrived, along with abundant snow. The mountains of Valais are sparkling white and ready to welcome you. Skiing, snowboarding, tobogganing, winter walking, snowshoeing, ski touring: whatever your favourite activity, you’ll find picturesque resorts with superb facilities to suit. Not to mention museums, delicious Valais specialities and much more… Valais promises delightful family holiday memories to last: action, fun and laughter guaranteed!
8 resorts with the Family Destination label
Everything for families | Valais boasts 8 holiday resorts that have won the coveted “Family Destination” label. Each one offers a wide variety of facilities to suit visitors of all ages. Family-friendly accommodation and restaurants, imaginative play areas, activities in the snow and childcare arrangements guarantee that parents and children alike enjoy a totally relaxing break.
Find out more
Profession: ski instructor | Sabine Haldemann’s smile is legendary in Bettmeralp. Every year, the charismatic ski instructor introduces more than 2,000 children to the secrets and pleasures of winter sports at the picturesque Valais resort. Nursery rhymes, songs and a cheerful atmosphere set the tone in the snow garden. It’s tough work (over the course of the winter season she loses 5 to 10 kg), but Sabine is thrilled to have found her dream job!
Read her story
Winter walks with St Bernard dogs
Sledge rides for children |
The St Bernard dog is the mascot of Valais. In former days, this giant, cuddly creature was valued as a rescue dog. Today, families can enjoy charming winter walks in the company of St Bernards through the magical snow-blanketed landscapes of Champex-Lac children under 10 have the chance to ride in sledges pulled by the dogs. A walk with a difference to delight all the family!
Details
Bake your own rye bread | Rye is ideally adapted to conditions in Valais, and has been cultivated here for centuries. People in Valais have long used its flour to bake a delicious traditional rye bread, whose distinctive texture and slightly acid taste are popular with children and adults alike. They say that only those who bake their own bread can know its secrets. Have a go at a choice of workshops – great fun for all the family.
Try your hand
Museums for all
Free visits | On the first Sunday of every month, the cantonal museums (of art, history and natural history) in Sion offer free admission and organise special activities. Guided visits, admission to sites normally closed to the public, themed events and workshops welcome visitors of all ages. Enjoy a fascinating cultural experience with the whole family as you discover the treasures of the Valais collections.
Start exploring
Fun for visitors of all ages
Snow parks | With their jumps, obstacles and banked turns, the snow parks at Valais ski areas offer fun and thrills for families to enjoy all together. Each has a beginners’ line ideal for children of all ages as well as novice adults. Kids adore the exciting sensations and quickly gain skills and confidence, while parents new to the freestyle scene may be surprised how quickly they become addicts!
Choose a venue
Travel to Valais
Lötschberg tunnel | Many motorists travelling to Valais from the north take advantage of the convenient car shuttle service through the Lötschberg railway tunnel. A refurbishment programme now underway is affecting timetables. A regular service is planned on weekends and bank holidays until Easter in summer, services will be limited (up to 4 car shuttles per hour in each direction). Please check the online timetable before travelling!
Further information
Top Events
Women’s races | The world’s top female ski racers gather in Crans-Montana to compete for glory on the spectacular Mont-Lachaux piste. Suspense and high thrills guaranteed. 23–24 February 2019.
Informations
Cross-country skiing | More than 1,900 enthusiasts take part every year in this popular and traditional cross-country ski race. Cheers of encouragement fill the Goms valley. 23–24 February 2019.
Informations
Local tradition | The wild Tschäggättä figures who prowl the streets of the Lötschental valley during Carnival, famous for their scary carved masks, gather for two traditional parades. Not to be missed! 28 February and 2 March 2019.
Informations

Unsere wertvollen Tipps für einen unvergesslichen Schneeurlaub.   
E-Mail wird nicht korrekt angezeigt?
» Im Browser anschauen
Geniessen Sie den Walliser Winter mit der Familie
Liebe Freunde des Wallis
Winter und Schnee haben sich inzwischen fest eingenistet. Die Walliser Gipfel sind in ein weisses Kleid gehüllt und bereit, Sie willkommen zu heissen. Ob Ski fahren, schlitteln, wandern, was auch immer Ihre Lieblingssportart ist. Die Walliser Destinationen bieten eine Infrastruktur für alle Bedürfnisse. Ganz zu schweigen von den Museen und den Walliser Spezialitäten. Das Wallis ist der Ort, an dem Sie Ihre schönsten Momente mit der Familie verbringen können. Spass und Geselligkeit garantiert.
8 Walliser Feriendestinationen mit dem Label «Family Destination»
Alles für Familien | 8 Walliser Feriendestinationen tragen das Label «Family Destination». Diese verfügen über zahlreiche Infrastrukturen, die auf die Bedürfnisse von Klein und Gross abgestimmt sind. Den Gästen stehen familienfreundliche Unterkünfte und Restaurants, Spielplätze, Wintersportaktivitäten und Kinderbetreuung zur Verfügung. Eben alles, was es für unvergessliche Familienferien braucht.
Weitere Infos
Beruf: Skilehrerin | Ihr Lächeln gehört einfach zur Bettmeralp. Sabine Haldemann macht jedes Jahr mehr als 2000 Kindern den Wintersport schmackhaft. Die Skilehrerin führt angehende Skifahrer in alle Geheimnisse des Pistenvergnügens ein. Dabei schwingen Reime, Lieder und gute Laune im Kinderschneeland mit. Eine intensive Arbeit –sie verliert zwischen 5 und 10 Kilo pro Saison–, aber mit Sicherheit ihr Traumjob.
Porträt
Winterwanderung mit den Bernhardinerhunden
Schlittenfahrt | Der Bernhardiner ist das Maskottchen des Wallis. Mit seinem knuffigen Wesen war er einst als Rettungshund bekannt. Heute begleitet er Sie auf Winterwanderungen. Kinder unter 10 Jahren können die schneebedeckten Landschaften von Champex-Lac sogar im Hundeschlitten erkunden. Ein aussergewöhnliches Erlebnis für Familien.
Mehr Infos
Zubereitung von Roggenbrot | Seit Jahrhunderten im Wallis angebaut, findet Roggen hierzulande ideale Bedingungen vor. Die Walliser stellen mit dem Mehl seit Generationen köstliches Brot her. Das weiche Innere und den leicht säuerlichen Geschmack von Roggenbrot mögen Kinder und Erwachsene gleichermassen. Es heisst aber, dass nur derjenige, der sein eigenes Brot bäckt, das wahre Geheimnis kennt. Verschiedene Backstuben ermöglichen es der ganzen Familie, einmal selber Hand anzulegen.
Mehr Infos
Rund ums Museum
Gratisbesuche | Am ersten Sonntag im Monat gewähren die kantonalen Museen jeweils kostenlosen Eintritt und organisieren spezielle Aktivitäten. Führungen oder Besuche an sonst für die Öffentlichkeit unzugänglichen Orten sowie thematische Aktivitäten oder Workshops ermöglichen es Jung und Alt, alle Schätze der kantonalen Sammlungen zu entdecken. Kunst, Natur oder Geschichte bieten Gelegenheit, kulturelle Erfahrungen mit Ihrer Familie zu machen.
Zu den Museen
Spass für Gross und Klein
Snowparks | Für einen unterhaltsamen und abwechslungsreichen Familienausflug sind Snowparks die idealen Orte. Ausgestattet mit Buckeln, Kurven und Hindernissen, bieten sie perfekte Kurse für Anfänger. Kinder können neue Gleitgefühle entdecken und ihren Fortschritt beobachten. Oder lassen Sie sich durch die Sprünge erfahrener Freestyler inspirieren.
Zu den Snowparks
Der Weg ins Wallis
Lötschbergtunnel | Planen Sie, durch den Lötschbergtunnel ins Wallis zu reisen? Derzeit beeinträchtigen Sanierungsarbeiten den Autoverlad. Bis Ostern läuft dieser an Wochenenden und Feiertagen im Vollbetrieb. Danach und während der Sommersaison fahren nur bis vier Autozüge pro Stunde und Richtung durch den Tunnel. Überprüfen Sie den Online-Fahrplan bevor Sie losfahren.
Mehr Infos
Top Events
Ski alpin Frauen | Die besten Skirennfahrerinnen der Welt treffen sich in Crans-Montana, um sich auf der spektakulären Piste Mont-Lachaux herauszufordern. Spannung und Emotionen garantiert. Am 23. und 24. Februar 2019.
Informationen
Langlauf | An diesem beliebten und traditionellen Langlaufrennen sind jedes Jahr mehr als 1900 Teilnehmer dabei. Am 23. und 24. Februar 2019 hallen erneut anspornende Zurufe durch das Goms.
Informationen
Tradition | Die Tschäggättä sind wieder unterwegs. Während der Fasnachtszeit ziehen im Lötschental furchterregende Gestalten durch die Gassen. Verpassen Sie sie nicht. Am 28. Februar und
2. März 2019.
Informationen